Skip to main content

President's Statement on Election Protest

Liz Medina
Social share icons

Vermont State Labor Council, AFL-CIO

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 858, Montpelier, VT 05601

Office: 107 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05602


President Katie Maurice | Secretary-Treasurer Danielle Bombarder | Executive Vice President Ellen Kaye


Dear Vermont AFL-CIO Members,

I hope this message finds you well and in good spirits. Our recent convention was a significant milestone, with over 150 registered delegates and guests coming together to shape the future of our Labor Movement. It is vital to acknowledge the hard work put in by our officers, staff, volunteers, and the candidates who dedicated their time and effort to ensure the best convention and election possible.

We understand that perfection is elusive, but it is important to recognize that everyone involved was working tirelessly and in good faith to ensure a fair and democratic process. We appreciate the dedication and commitment of all those who contributed to making the convention a success.

In the interest of full transparency and direct democracy, I wanted to take the time to update you, the VT AFL-CIO membership, on what has been occurring since the election. Candidate for president, Mr. Larry Moquin, has challenged the election results, as is his right to do under our constitution. This challenge raised concerns about the fairness and integrity of the election process. It is important to emphasize that any election process can have its rough edges, especially when run during an energetic and boisterous convention. What is at question here is whether any of the complaints Mr. Moquin has made affected the outcome of the election.

VT AFL-CIO’s process for dealing with this challenge is outlined in our governing documents. We are following this process and have completed the first steps – an investigation of the merits of the protest and an investigation of the ethics code violations complaint.

The election complaints listed in the election protest have been thoroughly investigated by the election officers. They subsequently presented their findings to the Board, which determined that they had no impact on the outcome of the election. Regardless, the board has voted to set aside this report and hold a hearing to hear from Mr. Moquin in person regarding the charges before this matter is closed. This hearing will occur on Sunday December 10th from 1:00 pm - 5:00 pm at the Old Labor Hall (46 Granite St, Barre). All affiliate members in good-standing are encouraged and welcome to attend this hearing in person or via Zoom. You may register for a Zoom link here: 

The complaints listed in the (separate) ethics protest have all been investigated save one, which is in process. Again, the Ethical Practices Committee has determined that they had no impact on the results.

So that is where we are. I understand if folks are concerned about their votes being questioned, especially after taking time on a weekend to leave their homes and families to come and participate directly in the democratic process. What I can assure you is we are not only following the process outlined in our governing documents, but in some cases going above and beyond to ensure the election was fair, as I believe in my heart it was.

Our commitment to democracy and transparency remains unwavering. We are dedicated to upholding the will of the delegates and the integrity of our election process. Rest assured that we will continue to protect and defend the democratic values that our Labor Council stands for. That is why we are inviting all affiliate members in good standing to attend and observe the hearing on Sunday, December 10th from 1:00 pm - 5:00 pm either in person or via Zoom. We believe delegates and members have the right to know what is happening with respect to the officers they elected. Again, you may come to the Old Labor Hall (46 Granite St, Barre) or join via Zoom here.

We will keep you updated on the progress of the election review process, and we encourage your continued engagement and support. United, we can maintain the strength and integrity of our Labor Council, ensuring that your voices and your votes are respected and upheld.

Please also remember that YOU are the VT State Labor Council, the people elected are just the folks at the table, but we all answer to you. If you have any comments, questions, or concerns about the above, please reach out to your local District or Union VP on the labor council, or better yet, attend a meeting! In the interest of democracy our meetings are open to members in good standing and you are always free to attend a meeting to make your voice heard.


In solidarity,


Katie (Harris) Maurice


Vermont State Labor Council, AFL-CIO




Additional Contact information for VT AFL-CIO Executive Board


Danielle Bombardier (IBEW 300)




Ellen Kaye (UVM Staff United, AFT)

Executive Vice President



Dan Cornell (AFSCME 490)

District Vice President of Bennington AFSCME 



David Feurzeig (United Academics, AFT)

Vice President of AFT



Marty Gil (IATSE 919)

District Vice President of Chittenden



Greg Gove (UA 693)

Vice President of Building Trades 



Liz Harkins (AFGE 2604)

Vice President of Federal Workers 



Melissa Hurt (VSEA)

Vice President of VSEA 



Tyrel Kerr (VSEA)

Vice President of VSEA



Devry Langlois (USW 340)

District Vice President of Franklin & Grand Isle



Graham Lebel (AFSCME 1343)

Vice President of AFSCME



Traven Leyshon (Green Mountain Labor Council)

District Vice President of Washington & Orange 



Rebeka Mendelsohn (Workers United, SEIU)

Vice President of At-Large 



Paul Montague (APWU 759)

Vice President of Postal Workers




Renee Neid (UFCW 1459)

District Vice President of Windham & Windsor



Morgan Ouellette (VSEA)

Vice President of VSEA 



Jeremy Rathbun (AFSCME 1201)

District Vice President of Rutland & Addison AFSCME



Jack Roberts (UVM Staff United, AFT)

Vice President of AFT 



Ruben Serrano (AFSCME 2413)

District Vice President of the Northeast Kingdom 



Robert Stone (VSEA)

Vice President of VSEA


Leona Watt (VSEA)

Vice President of VSEA 



Sarah Williams (AFSCME 3977)

District Vice President of Lamoille 



Jeffrey Wimette (IBEW 300)

Vice President of IBEW